Reflection on delivering Student led seminar Part 1 (HEA Related)

In this part of my group work reflection I’m going to discuss how our group worked together to develop our online seminar for Unit 2 and my involvement.

From the 9th of February to the 22nd I was involved in facilitating a student led online seminar which was my group project for the Supporting the Blended and Online Student Experience module. This involved working as part of group to develop the online activities and add to the associated reading materials – these had to tie into our learning outcomes which we developed together. The completed online seminar was used by other students in the MSc Blended and Online Education course.

The particular area we focused on was Unit 2: Supporting the Online Learner (part of the Blended and Online Student Experience module). We decided to focus on two distinct areas; Digital Literacy and Various Forms of Feedback. Upon reflection this proved to be a beneficial decision as it allowed us to develop our learning outcomes based on these areas and provide two distinct topics to be spread over the two weeks of our online seminar.

In order to facilitate our online seminar we were given access to a Moodle Community Module, which we could edit and customise to suit our requirements.

As a group we met online to allocate tasks and hear how everyone was progressing with their particular section or areas. These meetings were facilitated via our group discussion area and online live video sessions (which were recorded and made available afterwards for everyone’s reference).

Due to my experience in using the software (Xerte) and my desire to learn more about the particular area to help enhance my professional practice I volunteered to focus on Digital Feedback. After some feedback and discussion with my fellow group members I produced the following Xerte object (K3, K4, A2, A3, V1, V2):

http://xerteonline.uws.ac.uk/play.php?template_id=969

This objected focused on the same piece of feedback being delivered in three different methods.

  • Video
  • Audio
  • Written

We asked learners/participants of our seminar to view the Xerte object and video within it, read the associated reading materials and then to post their thoughts on the forms of feedback in the applicable discussion forums. I enjoyed producing this learning object as it gave me the chance to critically analyse the advantages and disadvantages of the forms of feedback, along with reinforcing the importance of effective feedback for students.

I enjoyed producing this learning object as it gave me the chance to critically analyse the advantages and disadvantages of the forms of feedback, along with reinforcing the importance of effective feedback for students.

In the second part of this reflective blog post I will discuss how various forms of feedback were critiqued and analysed in the discussion forums with other Unit 2 seminar participants. I will also cover how the seminar was rounded off and my final reflection on the whole experience.

Leave a Reply

